Oak Tree Burl - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By _Ogre
  • 1 Post By johnedp34

post #1 of 13 Old 05-14-2020, 11:04 AM Thread Starter

View DallasGal75225's Photo Album My Photos
Oak Tree Burl

Hello, all. I have a large oak tree in Dallas that I plan to cut down. It has a very large burl at the base. The tree looks to be in fairly good health, and I have had it pruned and dead branches cut each year. How do I go about getting this sold? I have already had people ask about it but they want it for free by cutting down the tree. It is a very nice piece of wood. Please send suggestions. Thank you.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 05-14-2020, 01:10 PM

View John Smith_inFL's Photo Album My Photos
welcome to the forum, Gal.
I moved your post to General Discussion as it will get better exposure.

I am a painter: that's what I do, I like to paint things.
post #3 of 13 Old 05-14-2020, 01:12 PM

View _Ogre's Photo Album My Photos
a picture is worth a 1000 words
faith michel likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 13 Old 05-15-2020, 06:13 AM

View johnedp34's Photo Album My Photos
This was originally posted by Texas Timbers.

So many people think someone will pay them to remove a "highly valuable" tree for them.
johnep
JamesTinKS likes this.
The Following User Says Thank You to johnedp34 For This Useful Post:
Tony B (05-15-2020)
post #5 of 13 Old 05-15-2020, 06:23 AM

View Tony B's Photo Album My Photos
Oak Burls can be pretty but it all depends on the minerals in the soil. That is what gives the burls their color and hence a value. When I cut my burls off my trees in the woods, they made beautiful bowls and other turned objects.
You wont have a windfall of money coming from it but it could be anywhere from a few hundred toa few thousand, depending on size and coloration