Woodworking Talk banner

NY area: where and how keep woodworking

2K views 17 replies 10 participants last post by  MarcNY 
#1 · (Edited by Moderator)
Hi,
I'm a fellow woodworker from Spain. Long time reader, now seeking advice.
I've started 5 years ago, building my skills little by little and now more seriously upgrading my shop and projects.
Look forward to join the forum.

I hope this is not too much off topic.
I shall be moving to NY the next summer, my day job will be near UN plaza, Manhattan.

I don't want to give up woodworking, which has followed me in several countries; hand-tools only approach didn't work with me so far (could be age? I started at 40).

I would very much appreciate any advice from fellow woodworkers living in the area as to where I could look for a property for rent including a small space for a shop with power tools (small makita bandsaw, dewalt thicknesser, hand router...). Budget should be max 2500USD. I know this will make the commute quite long but I know I've got to sacrifice something...

Are there shops open to the public for rent?

Thanks you in advance for any advice.

Dave

See less See more
#3 ·
Hi John,

Thanks for your reply. My employer does not provide that type of service, at best they may give me a real estate agent contact, but I'm afraid it will only cover downtown. If I had a idea of where to look for would be easier.

I've worked in more than 10 countries so far, but never been in the US.

D

#5 ·
Renting a shop in the city may be either very expensive or in a high crime area. If you are willing to commute to the city for work there's many rail lines feeding into the city. There's subways that will get you around in the city too. Once you are a few miles outside of the city you might find a house with a basement or a garage that you can use for a shop. There's a few woodworking sources of wood and equipment in the surrounding areas too.

Reactions: mjadams61
#6 ·