Noob here and building my first entertainment cabinet - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 10 Old 10-06-2014, 09:48 PM Thread Starter

View Roguehk's Photo Album My Photos
Noob here and building my first entertainment cabinet

I'm building a gift for my wife with the plan to use dowels. I need help deciding how far apart the dowels should be set. I have 1" edge glued spruce because that's what is avail in my area and it is already sanded. My dowels that I purchased are 5/16'' and 1 1/2'' long. How many inches apart should I put the dowels? I have a "jointcrafter" jig I bought from menards for this. I have a feeling I'm going to be drilling A LOT of holes LOL...

My Plan is to cut a back piece and sides that are sandwiched between the top and everything will have the dowels in it for strength. The box is 35'' Long x 14" high and 2' wide. This will allow me to fit my DVD player and my wii in the box with my A/V receiver. I am putting the box under my 8' x 8' screen for my projector My wife found some cabernet stain samples we will use on some of the scrap wood I plan to cut off.

Here's my design I made up in sketchup.

One last question. For my table saw should I buy a 10'' 80 tooth saw blade? I want to make fine cuts on this and have OK table saw.. *pro tech* (lol)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 10-06-2014, 10:29 PM

View jacko9's Photo Album My Photos
Entertainment cabinet construction

I would space your dowels about every 1 1/2" apart. As far as your table saw blade, it depends on what you intend to cut mostly. 80 teeth is a lot for a rip cut so I would look for something in the Forrest Blade line like the Woodworker II.

Looks like a nice project and I would be interested in seeing pictures of the construction and final piece.

Good Luck,

Jack
post #3 of 10 Old 10-06-2014, 11:15 PM Thread Starter

View Roguehk's Photo Album My Photos