newbie refinishing old stairs HELP - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 8 Old 09-13-2020, 04:49 PM Thread Starter

View Brianna Phillips's Photo Album My Photos
newbie refinishing old stairs HELP

Hi! Can someone help me? I'm new to home DIY and decided to restore an old staircase. I used a few rounds of Citristrip. I took the last round off around 9pm last night. I noticed the wood seems much darker today. I did rub some mineral spirits on to clean it, but I thought it would be dried out by now. I ran the sander on it for a few seconds and the pad immediately got ruined and didn't do anything to the wood. Is the wood just still wet? Should I be worried? How long does it take to dry out for sanding usually?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4154.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	664.7 KB
ID:	395437  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2020-09-13 at 4.02.19 PM.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	651.1 KB
ID:	395439  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 09-13-2020, 04:53 PM
Wood machinist

View difalkner's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome to the forum, Brianna! Add your location to your profile, please.

You might try a scraper first and then sand after you've removed all the gunk.

David

David

Curly Wood Shop on Etsy
David Falkner - Woodworking YouTube channel and Instagram
Our music at church - current videos Airline Baptist BC Facebook Live
Romans 3:23
post #3 of 8 Old 09-13-2020, 04:59 PM Thread Starter

OK I did one more round of citristrip to see if it was stain, but its not. The wood seems really soft. What kind of scraper?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 8 Old 09-13-2020, 05:56 PM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
Citrus Strip requires about 5 to 8 applications......