Newbie question on building a desk - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 11 Old 08-28-2015, 11:51 AM Thread Starter

View mpalazola's Photo Album My Photos
Newbie question on building a desk

Hi all, please go easy on me, I am an aspiring DIYer but I have very little experience with woodworking. I am very interested and want to try a starter project.

We have this pottery barn corner desk:
http://www.potterybarn.com/products/...rner-desk-set/

We moved the desk to our basement and of course it doesnít fit in the corner, so I was going to buy this smaller desk, keeping one cabinet and moving the other one elsewhere:
http://www.potterybarn.com/products/...src=AutoCSLPIP

Well that doesnít fit either, itís 52 inches and the space along the wall is 50 inches (plus itís $230+shipping). So I thought, why not try to build it myself?

I found these plans to build exactly what I wanted to my specifications:
http://ana-white.com/2010/02/before-...ts.html?page=1

I feel pretty comfortable attempting this, but my real question was on the legs. In the above plans they seem a lot more complicated than I would have thought, requiring three 1x3 boards being glued and nailed together. Also I would have to add a veneer if I wanted to stain it I guess? I wanted to know, why not use just one solid piece for each leg and a bracket like the one below:
http://www.woodcraft.com/product/159...or-oneleg.aspx

The big corner desk uses this type of bracket and leg in the middle for support and came with a similar bracket (albeit, not adjustable, itís one solid piece.)

The pottery barn small desk seems to use two solid pieces for the legs Iím guessing from the pictures. How would I go about it using two solid pieces and is there anywhere else to get those brackets? Looks like they also need a support in the middle. I could only find them on that one website.

Thanks!
The Following User Says Thank You to mpalazola For This Useful Post:
woodchux (08-28-2015)
Sponsored Links