Newbie question about following plans - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 11Likes

post #1 of 24 Old 04-20-2019, 09:44 PM Thread Starter

View roverson's Photo Album My Photos
Newbie question about following plans

Maybe a dumb question:

I've been woodworking for a couple of years now and being able to follow other people's plans from the internet in combination with videos has really been an amazing experience to produce things way beyond what I would be able to otherwise. I keep running into a problem though that when I follow the plywood cut diagrams for the plans and rip up all the plywood at the beginning of the project, things are slightly off during assembly due to differences in the plywood thickness. I am buying decent quality Baltic birch that is very uniformly 23/32" but it's almost like all the plans I've been using actually assume that the plywood is exactly 3/4" and the 1/32" discrepancy starts to stack up when you for instance are building a miter saw stand with many cabinets or drawers. This results in me having to recut pieces as the error starts to add up. The more sane thing to do would be to rework all the numbers on the plans accounting for the missing 1/32" but I was hoping that maybe I'm missing something and this isn't necessary?

Last edited by roverson; 04-20-2019 at 09:46 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 Old 04-20-2019, 10:05 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by roverson View Post
Maybe a dumb question: