Newbie Question - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 8Likes

post #1 of 26 Old 04-25-2019, 11:08 PM Thread Starter

View Zatara's Photo Album My Photos
Newbie Question

Hello all. I'm kinda new to the hobby and learning every time I work on something. I'm currently working on a project making a rustic flag. The Union portion I order comes at a height of 10.5" It is intended to be joined to the 7 1x 2 stripes.

In theory the 10.5" union should match right up with the 7 1 x 2 stripes. I've done two using these ordered Unions and each time they are about 1/8" off. I can use a straight router bit to clean it up easy enough but it does mean its off a little.

This seems like simple arithmetic but I'm obviously getting something wrong. Is the glue between the 1 x 2s enough to create this difference? Feels like a dumb question but been staring at this all night and can't figure it out. Apologies if the answer is easy and staring me in the face.

Thanks
Jay C. White Cloud likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 26 Old 04-25-2019, 11:22 PM

View FrankC's Photo Album My Photos
Your 1x2's may be a tad wider than 1.5", the glue lines should not increase the width by 1/8". How does it line up before you glue it up, you may have to trim each of the 1x2's to fit with a hand plane.

“Everything we hear is an opinion, not a fact. Everything we see is a perspective, not the truth.”
― Marcus Aurelius
FrankC
http://sawdustmaking.com
post #3 of 26 Old 04-25-2019, 11:25 PM Thread Starter

Thanks will give that a look in the morning. Would running it through the table saw to just trim it down work or is that overkill?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 26 Old 04-25-2019, 11:31 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zatara View Post
Thanks will give that a look in the morning. Would running it through the table saw to just trim it down work or is that overkill?
Not at all, that would probably be the easiest solution.