• 3 Post By BernieL
  • 2 Post By woodnthings
  • 1 Post By GeorgeC
  • 1 Post By Steve Neul
  • 1 Post By Vasilios

post #1 of 8 Old 12-06-2018, 10:39 AM Thread Starter

View Vasilios's Photo Album My Photos
Newbie Question

Hey guys sorry if this is a really basic question, but I'm really new to woodworking. I have begun my first project, a work bench. With that being said I chose a plan that has some lap joints, dowel work and glue is used primarily for joinery.

My problem
I have used two 2*4s glued together for the legs of the table, problem being is I did not have enough clamps to properly clamp down the legs. The result were gaps where the glue has seeped out.

My question
Can I use fasteners after I have glued or is it advised to recut new legs and fasten and glue at the same time ?

Thank you guys, once again very new to this but I have enjoyed every step. Looking forward I cannot replicate the process by the Youtuber as he has the proper amount of clamps t finish this project, I will have to use different means to fasten my glue work. Pics provided please be gentle, and thank you !
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20181206_093451.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	183.6 KB
ID:	369039  

Name:	20181206_093456.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	188.6 KB
ID:	369041  

Name:	20181206_093439.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	226.6 KB
ID:	369043  

You only live once
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 12-06-2018, 11:45 AM

View FrankC's Photo Album My Photos
I would say to start over, if you are short of clamps glue and screw the 2X4's together. You need to select the sides you glue together, if there is a slight bow put the two high faces together, that way only two clamps on the ends should force the boards tight and it will naturally straighten out.

“Everything we hear is an opinion, not a fact. Everything we see is a perspective, not the truth.”
― Marcus Aurelius
FrankC
http://sawdustmaking.com
post #3 of 8 Old 12-08-2018, 08:14 AM