Newbie needs jointer help - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Stevedore

post #1 of 8 Old 12-04-2018, 06:32 PM Thread Starter

View Trampis's Photo Album My Photos
Newbie needs jointer help

Hi all,

I'm new to using a jointer and am having some issues. I have a 6" Delta bench jointer and have followed all the setup directions (90 degree fence, parallel feed tables, blade adjustment, etc.). I've watched a few YouTube videos on how to feed boards through. I'm using downward force with my left hand once the board gets to the outfeed table and just pushing the rest through with my right (while still maintaining slight pressure against the fence). My problem is that the board I'm facing (in this case a 4 1/2" wide x 4/4 piece of oak) is getting tapered on the side I'm facing. Before I ran it through the jointer it was reasonably flat. No twists or bows. It just needed cleaning up because it was rough cut. Now the faced side is tapered. The one side of the board is now only about 3/4" of an inch thick and the jointer doesn't touch the last 4 inches or so of the board (it's about a 28" long piece) which is still 4/4 thick.

I thought I was doing the whole feed thing correctly but obviously not.

Any help/suggestions are very much appreciated!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 12-04-2018, 07:03 PM

View _Ogre's Photo Album My Photos
that's pretty much how a jointer works, if you don't have the long edge against the fence
the proper tool to use, for this application, is a thickness planer
post #3 of 8 Old 12-04-2018, 07:08 PM Thread Starter

View Trampis's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by _Ogre View Post
that's pretty much how a jointer works, if you don't have the long edge against the fence
the proper tool to use, for this application, is a thickness planer
So even if both faces of the board are rough cut, use a planer to get the faces smooth? I thought you were supposed to get one side on the jointer first?