Newbie needs help - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 9 Old 04-25-2013, 06:04 PM Thread Starter

View B2345's Photo Album My Photos
Exclamation Newbie needs help

Hi im a newbie when it comes to working with wood , what im needing help with is i have 6 small sheets of plywood left in my new house i just moved into and i was thinking about making them into a cuboid shape box and then do sum funky designs on just make it into something cool looking but im not sure what would be the best way going about making the box . i want the box to possibly not have like screw or nail visible as im looking for a smooth finish someone said i should try wood glue or tiger glue but thought id ask and see if anyone else could possibly give me a few more ideas as id like to get it started asap as i have some free time at the moment ,hope use can help :)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 04-25-2013, 06:28 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
What tools do you have? I think what you are referring to as tiger glue is gorilla glue. I wouldn't recommend using that. It makes a nasty mess because it foams up as it dries. I would just stick with any carpenters glue and nails.
post #3 of 9 Old 04-25-2013, 06:51 PM

View Cliff's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by B2345 View Post
tiger glue
There are way cheaper and probably better sources of super glue than that stuff.
For super glues I like these people:
http://www.starbond.com/
Good products decent prices and they are always willing to offer technical advice.

However as a general woodworking glue super glues are not the best. They definitely have their uses but as an all around super duty glue Good old Titebond is better than anything I've ever heard of or used. OT's better than epoxy, flexible so it's got advantages over resourcinol, I think it's way stronger than plastic resin glue, and hot glues.
Titebond. It's the shizz