Newbie just starting has a question about HOW to start - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 8 Old 02-06-2010, 06:04 PM Thread Starter

View atlas227's Photo Album My Photos
Newbie just starting has a question about HOW to start

Hi everyone! I'm a newbie and am wrapping up my first woodworking course. We put together a jewelry box and used alot of tools like a jointer, planer, table saw, etc. My question is I rent a house, and there really is no space for this stuff. So what kinds of projects can i do that don't require the big guns yet. I'd like to start with basic projects, sell some things if possible and when i'm ready and have more space, then begin my collection of the big equipment. So any suggestions? Thanks in advance...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 02-06-2010, 06:32 PM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
Having been in your shoes 50 yrs ago...

a rented apartment, 8 x 10 ft bedroom, a bed loft above a 10" Craftsman table saw, a 1/2" Craftsman portable drill mounted in a drill press holder, and a 8 1/4" Skil saw. Hand tools planes and chisels. I still have the drill and the Skil saw.
Today, I'd recommend a Bosch 4000 or 4100 job site table saw and stand, ($400 - $500, a Craftsman laser miter saw 10"( $150), a 1 3/4 HP or 2 1/4Hp router, Freud has a sale on router and table combo $399.00. Some handplanes and chisels from Woodcraft, Lee Valley or Rockler.
Some folks would recommend a Festool or Eruekazone type guided saw, ... maybe, if your space is really limited, but I prefer the good old tablesaw.