New to woodworking, want to make sure I don't go down the wrong path - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 48 Old 03-26-2013, 01:00 AM Thread Starter

View leros's Photo Album My Photos
New to woodworking, want to make sure I don't go down the wrong path

I'm new to woodworking, so I'm starting out with virtually no tools. I'm hoping to get some help with building my tool collection while also not wasting money on unnecessary things. I think I could very easily spend too much money getting started.

I have cheap non-woodworking hand tools. I also have a Rigid 15" drill press and a Craftsman 10" bandsaw. These were bought before I had a real interest in wood working. I'm pretty much starting from scratch.

I'm still not sure if I want to go the hand tool or power tool route. I think I'd prefer the power tool route, because I have limited time and it seems like I may be able to get more done this route. On the other hand, I'm a night owl and can't run power tools at night due to noise so hand tools have the advantage there.

The basic things I think I'm lacking right now are
1) a way to joint and plane wood
2) a way to make straight accurate cuts

I'm thinking about spending a bit of money just to get tools that enable me to start being able to do things. I've been thinking about getting the Rigid 4512 table saw and the Jet 10" jointer/planer. This is about $1000, which is a significant amount of money.

1) Is it a good idea to spend that sort of money to get started? I just want to get some tools that enable me to start doing stuff.

2) Are those overkill for a beginner? I'm rather afraid of buying cheap junk or used junk and having a bad experience as a result. In order to prevent that, I'm willing to spend a bit more to get started. I still don't want to waste money though.

As you can see, I really don't have a good grounding as to how to get started buying tools. Could really use some advice from you guys.

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement