New to Woodworking. A couple questions about buying lumber. - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 7 Old 10-17-2019, 01:44 PM Thread Starter

View Chrislw324's Photo Album My Photos
New to Woodworking. A couple questions about buying lumber.

I'm pretty new to woodworking. So far, all of my projects have been made with dimensional wood from home centers like Home Depot and Menards.
I want to make a hallway table out of maple and walnut, but can't seem to find the boards I need. I can readily find 2x2x8 boards in pine and oak,
but if I want to have walnut or maple legs that are 2 x 2, is my only option to by a slab or bigger board and cut it down to the size I want?

What's the general opinion about ordering lumber online? I see 8/4 walnut and maple online, but I'm not sure what will show up at my door.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 10-17-2019, 02:15 PM

View Terry Q's Photo Album My Photos
If you tell us what part of the country you live in someone living nearby might be able to tell you of local sources.
post #3 of 7 Old 10-17-2019, 02:15 PM Thread Starter

View Chrislw324's Photo Album My Photos
I'm from Indianapolis Indiana.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 7 Old 10-17-2019, 02:21 PM
Mike

View Pretender's Photo Album My Photos
A quick search on google maps shows at
least 7 hardwood suppliers in and near Indianapolis.
post #5 of 7 Old 10-18-2019, 12:03 PM

View mackman's Photo Album My Photos