• 1 Post By a_good_brew
  • 1 Post By gmercer_48083
  • 1 Post By epicfail48
  • 1 Post By gmercer_48083

post #1 of 15 Old 04-06-2020, 05:29 PM Thread Starter

View a_good_brew's Photo Album My Photos
New to woodwork: help planing!

Hi folks

I'm new to woodwork (and to the forum) with hand tools and my wife and I have together (actually mostly her!) just built the english workbench from Richard Macguire's video series which I really enjoyed. The bench is made from pine.

We are at the smoothing stage with the plane and are having problems. We bought a 1930s 5 1/2 Stanley bailey plane on ebay and sharpened the blade as instructed on many youtube videos. The blade has quite a camber on it. Didn't get quite as nice a burr as on many videos instead the edge was sort of "hairy" with lots of small pieces that were removed at the final stage.

Anyway, the problem we're getting can be seen in the images I've attached. Any ideas what I need to do to stop this happening and get a really nice finish?

James
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20200405_174401_sm.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	271.4 KB
ID:	386979  

Name:	20200405_174409_sm.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	239.6 KB
ID:	386981  

Name:	20200405_174432_sm.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	192.5 KB
ID:	386983  

difalkner likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 04-06-2020, 05:42 PM

View John Smith_inFL's Photo Album My Photos
welcome aboard, James.
this is an open forum with all levels of skills and talents.
please feel free to join in the conversations that you find interesting
and ask questions to expand your skill levels and share what you know.
if you would like to know more about something, you can start a new thread.
we like to see photos of projects to share with others.
when you get time, you can complete your profile through the "User CP"
with your location and whatever you want in your signature line that will
show in all your posts.
hope you enjoy your stay.