Woodworking Talk banner

New Table Saw Consideration

6K views 44 replies 17 participants last post by  woodnthings 
#1 ·
I have finally arrived at a bit of advice to a new woodworker considering the purchase of a new table saw.

Look at all the models available. Get all the prices. Find all the sources.

Then check with your company's HR department and ask, "What is the co-pay for an ER visit?"

Take that number and triple it because there could be additional costs associated with the ER visit.

Take the tripled number and add it to your budget. Then go buy a Saw Stop table saw. I am a woodworker and not associated with Saw Stop in any way. To be honest I really dislike the lawyer that started Saw Stop. But we like woodworkers on this forum AND it is so much easier to type with 10 fingers.

#2 · (Edited)
There is just no debating that .......

There is no argument that the Saw Stop is the ultimate in table saw safety technology and that it lives up to it's claims. However, many of the questions here also have significant budget issues which rule it out as a choice.So, what to do?

My advice is simple in principle:
Avoid kick backs.
Keep your fingers out of the blade path.

OK, how?
To avoid kickbacks use a splitter or riving knife which will maintain the workpiece against the fence all the way through the entire length of the cut.
Use a proper push shoe, not a push stick, which allows you to apply forward, lateral and downward feed pressure simultaneously. Get a "Gripper" which does this and costs under $100.00 and a set up Safety push blocks:
https://www.amazon.com/GRR-RIPPER-P...jbGlja1JlZGlyZWN0JmRvTm90TG9nQ2xpY2s9dHJ1ZQ==

https://www.amazon.com/Safety-Woodw...per+table+saw+accessory&qid=1579161212&sr=8-5

Finally, use your table saw's throat plate as "Red Zone" as the danger area where hands and fingers are "NOT ALLOWED". By keeping your fingers away from the blade path, you can pretty much assure a safe operation each time you use the saw.