New Homeowner New Woodworker? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 12 Old 09-30-2020, 11:25 PM Thread Starter

View johnandersonoutdoors's Photo Album My Photos
New Homeowner New Woodworker?

Hello all. I am new to the forum. It is good to be here, as it looks like I will learn a lot.

I have so many questions swirling in my head and I finally decided to do something about it and come here, where I can ask a few. I am a new homeowner and have been working on demolition and towards eventual remodeling. I am trying to save money and/or create value and do as much of it as possible, however, I have very little experience in construction or woodworking. The last decade I spent shooting guns/pistol competitions and reloading my own ammo, but it is time to add some new skills.

I can probably scrounge some help from a few friends, but with a budget for mostly materials only, I feel like I need to learn some things and try to save on expensive labor as I work through remodel. One place where I am wondering if I can save some money or create value and learn some skills would be in making my own kitchen cabinets. Perhaps bathroom, laundry room and cabinets/otherwise in large walk in master closet. Perhaps I can also shape various raw stock into different trim such as baseboards, etc.

I haven't priced cabinets for my kitchen, but it is my understanding that cabinets can range from less expensive (100? per linear foot) to many many hundreds of dollars per linear foot. I have a 10 foot long galley kitchen in this house, so I am thinking a very nice set of cabinets could cost $10,000.