new dewalt 7491rs table saw, fence not square - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 7Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 26 Old 06-30-2020, 07:56 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 7
View woodbite's Photo Album My Photos
new dewalt 7491rs table saw, fence not square

I just bought my first table saw, a dewalt 7491rs, and when I put everything together, I noticed the fence is no square. Please see attached photos.

Had no experience with table saw before, so I really don't know what the expectation should be, is this normal for a jobsite table saw? Thanks for any inputs!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	4341593561321_.pic.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	225.0 KB
ID:	391747  

Click image for larger version

Name:	4351593561322_.pic.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	217.2 KB
ID:	391749  

woodbite is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 26 Old 06-30-2020, 09:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Florida Panhandle
Posts: 12,390
View GeorgeC's Photo Album My Photos
First, have you verified that the square that you are using is actually square?


George
GeorgeC is online now  
post #3 of 26 Old 06-30-2020, 10:06 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 7
View woodbite's Photo Album My Photos
I have tried 3 different squares, all same result.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GeorgeC View Post
First, have you verified that the square that you are using is actually square?


George
woodbite is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 26 Old 06-30-2020, 10:23 PM
Senior Member
 
faith michel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: izmir-TÜRKİYE
Posts: 597
View faith michel's Photo Album My Photos
If your squares are correct..Change your table saw...This is not normal...

SM-J700F cihazımdan Tapatalk kullanılarak gönderildi

Last edited by faith michel; 06-30-2020 at 10:26 PM.
faith michel is offline  
post #5 of 26 Old 06-30-2020, 11:42 PM
where's my table saw?
 
woodnthings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SE, Michigan
Posts: 27,327
View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
That can be adjusted

Look at the T end of the fence to see if there are two screws that ride on the top of the front rail. Adjust one until it make the fence square to the table.


Maybe this will help:

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)

Last edited by woodnthings; 06-30-2020 at 11:45 PM.
woodnthings is offline  
post #6 of 26 Old 06-30-2020, 11:55 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 7
View woodbite's Photo Album My Photos
thanks, I googled and found this video.

hate to do this on a brand new saw....

Quote:
Originally Posted by woodnthings View Post
Look at the T end of the fence to see if there are two screws that ride on the top of the front rail. Adjust one until it make the fence square to the table.


Maybe this will help:
YouTube
woodbite is offline  
post #7 of 26 Old 07-01-2020, 12:03 AM
Senior Member
 
faith michel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: izmir-TÜRKİYE
Posts: 597
View faith michel's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by woodbite View Post
thanks, I googled and found this video.

hate to do this on a brand new saw....
This is not your mistake...You are a customer ..You have your rights... Change your table saw or Want your money ..

SM-J700F cihazımdan Tapatalk kullanılarak gönderildi
faith michel is offline  
post #8 of 26 Old 07-01-2020, 12:11 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 7
View woodbite's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by faith michel View Post
This is not your mistake...You are a customer ..You have your rights... Change your table saw or Want your money ..

SM-J700F cihazımdan Tapatalk kullanılarak gönderildi
thanks, will call dewalt and see what they say about this $600 saw.
woodbite is offline  
post #9 of 26 Old 07-01-2020, 07:13 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Florida Panhandle
Posts: 12,390
View GeorgeC's Photo Album My Photos
I would still check to be sure that I am using "square" squares.


George
GeorgeC is online now  
post #10 of 26 Old 07-01-2020, 07:45 AM
Senior Member
 
faith michel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: izmir-TÜRKİYE
Posts: 597
View faith michel's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by GeorgeC View Post
I would still check to be sure that I am using "square" squares.


George
He said.... I have tried 3 different squares, all same result.

I wrote dewalt 7491rs in my black list... search at google.. He is not alone...

SM-J700F cihazımdan Tapatalk kullanılarak gönderildi
faith michel is offline  
post #11 of 26 Old 07-01-2020, 10:15 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 7
View woodbite's Photo Album My Photos
yes, i used three different brands. all same results.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	4361593612760_.pic.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	338.3 KB
ID:	391805  

woodbite is offline  
post #12 of 26 Old 07-01-2020, 10:28 AM
where's my table saw?
 
woodnthings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SE, Michigan
Posts: 27,327
View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
It's not the saw, it's the fence ....

Even if you get a new/different saw, it may still have the same issue with the fence, so learn how to adjust it.
There's only two ways to adjust the fence.
The first is to make the face parallel to the miter slots.
The second is to make the face square to the table.


The owner's manual should cover both ways.

Common sense will tell you which screws or bolts do which adjustment.
Without the fence in hand, it's too hard to give advice. If your fence is not like the one in the video, then take very good photos like you did showing the squares and post them, then maybe we can figure it out ...?
GeorgeC and Shop_Rat like this.

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)
woodnthings is offline  
post #13 of 26 Old 07-01-2020, 10:41 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 7
View woodbite's Photo Album My Photos
The manual does not mention how to make the fence square to the table at all.

Quote:
Originally Posted by woodnthings View Post
Even if you get a new/different saw, it may still have the same issue with the fence, so learn how to adjust it.
There's only two ways to adjust the fence.
The first is to make the face parallel to the miter slots.
The second is to make the face square to the table.


The owner's manual should cover both ways.

Common sense will tell you which screws or bolts do which adjustment.
Without the fence in hand, it's too hard to give advice. If your fence is not like the one in the video, then take very good photos like you did showing the squares and post them, then maybe we can figure it out ...?
woodbite is offline  
post #14 of 26 Old 07-01-2020, 10:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: NE FL
Posts: 616
View DrRobert's Photo Album My Photos
You could possibly shim up one side with high molecular weight tape.

But if I may be blunt, its a jobsite saw. They are built to be tossed the back of a pickup, not for a woodworking shop or even a carpenter with the expectations you have.

If you can, I would take it back, get a refund and buy a machine more suited for ww'ing.

Robert
DrRobert is offline  
post #15 of 26 Old 07-01-2020, 10:52 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 5,658
View FrankC's Photo Album My Photos
It sounds like this is a common problem, exchanging the saw may not be the answer, if it was me I would take a look at the fence and see if it would be possible to shim it as shown in the video.

If that doesn't work then go to plan "B".

Wise men speak because they have something to say; fools because they have to say something -Plato

FrankC
http://sawdustmaking.com
http://woodworkerglossary.com
FrankC is offline  
post #16 of 26 Old 07-01-2020, 11:06 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Florida Panhandle
Posts: 12,390
View GeorgeC's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by faith michel View Post
He said.... I have tried 3 different squares, all same result.

I wrote dewalt 7491rs in my black list... search at google.. He is not alone...

SM-J700F cihazımdan Tapatalk kullanılarak gönderildi

All three squares could be in error. Not likely, but possible. I have seen stranger. Have you ever gone in a store and checked a square before purchase and rejected several? I have.


George
GeorgeC is online now  
post #17 of 26 Old 07-01-2020, 11:11 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Florida Panhandle
Posts: 12,390
View GeorgeC's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrRobert View Post
You could possibly shim up one side with high molecular weight tape.

But if I may be blunt, its a jobsite saw. They are built to be tossed the back of a pickup, not for a woodworking shop or even a carpenter with the expectations you have.

If you can, I would take it back, get a refund and buy a machine more suited for ww'ing.

Also, that amount of error in the fence being square to the table would probably not be even a factor in 9 out of 10 woodworking projects. Just think about how you use a fence. How often does it matter if the top is not exactly in the same plane as the bottom?


George
GeorgeC is online now  
post #18 of 26 Old 07-01-2020, 11:58 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 7
View woodbite's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrRobert View Post
You could possibly shim up one side with high molecular weight tape.

But if I may be blunt, its a jobsite saw. They are built to be tossed the back of a pickup, not for a woodworking shop or even a carpenter with the expectations you have.

If you can, I would take it back, get a refund and buy a machine more suited for ww'ing.
actually, is there a good table saw folks can recommend?

Cabinet saw is too expensive and takes too much space, so it is not on my list.
woodbite is offline  
post #19 of 26 Old 07-01-2020, 12:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Florida Panhandle
Posts: 12,390
View GeorgeC's Photo Album My Photos
There is really nothing wrong with a well constructed job site saw. A friend of mine who used to have a fully equipped shop (table saw, jointer, planner, etc) moved and does not have the space he once had. Also he does not do as much woodworking as before. Now basically what he used is a job site saw. When he builds projects his work still turns out beautiful.



Unless you are working with a piece of junk it is more the skill of the worker than the cost of the machine.


George
GeorgeC is online now  
post #20 of 26 Old 07-01-2020, 12:42 PM
woodworking in the garage
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Delaware
Posts: 28
View ggosack's Photo Album My Photos
I had a Dewalt Jobsite just like yours - traded up to a Sawstop Jobsite Pro. Costs more, but the quality is undeniable - plus the added benefit of the flesh sensing technology. I work in a garage, so a jobsite saw was the best solution for me.
ggosack is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome