Need vice advice. - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 7 Old 08-17-2015, 06:13 PM Thread Starter

View berteebert's Photo Album My Photos
Need vice advice.

please. (=

I built a 4x5 work station. its very sturdy, I installed the rockler workbench casters (the kind that you push down to engage the wheels) this way I can have it wherever I want it in my shop while working.
the bench top is 1-1/2" maple top, I plan of plunging out dog holes once I figure out my vise setup

iv never owned nor really used a true wood working vise, iv gotten away with using my bench vise for years, but figured now with the addition of this workstation, it'd be nice to have a face/front and tail vise setup. that is where I start to get lost. I am by no means a professional so the best isn't something I need. that in mind, I don't mind getting something and spending the money on something nice.
im slightly confused on the metal jawed vises if you add in wooden jaws or that's how they are, as well as being able to use some of the vises with dog holes, I done see how some of the vises allow you to benefit from your dog holes in the workbench while others do allow you.

any help!? I have a feeling tho I am about to get jumped on by the search Nazi...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 08-17-2015, 07:21 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
Some woodworking vices have a tab on it you can raise up when wanting to clamp a bigger piece to the top of the table. The dog holes are just a place to put a pin to clamp against. On the inside of the jaws you screw a piece of wood to. This way you can clamp a piece of wood in the vice and not make clamp marks on the wood.
The Following User Says Thank You to Steve Neul For This Useful Post:
berteebert (08-19-2015)
post #3 of 7 Old 08-19-2015, 08:23 AM

View roninrus1's Photo Album My Photos
Vice - hookers and Jack Daniels!!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 7 Old 08-19-2015, 09:15 AM
where's my table saw?