Need help fitting a chain to my chainsaw - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old 05-05-2016, 11:11 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 105
View jessesnowden's Photo Album My Photos
Need help fitting a chain to my chainsaw

So I've got a problem guys. Just finished rebuilding a stihl 056 for milling up slabs. Went on amazon and purchased a 42" bar and a 42" chain. They both say 135 drive links, I even counted the links on the chain, they're all there. So the bar and chain match up. Problem is, it looks like I'm short a few links when I try to fit it on the saw. It says right on that package that the bar fits a stihl 056.

How hard is it to add links to a chainsaw chain? Is that something your average power equipment shop can do? Am I just missing something? If anyone has time, please take a close look at the photos and tell me if you see anything I could try.


This is the chain receipt
http://i1175.photobucket.com/albums/...psbgoycgxs.jpg

This is the box the bar came in
http://i1175.photobucket.com/albums/...pspxqqiazv.jpg

When I put the chain on the bar, there is only 1.5 inches from the edge of the bar to the shoulder of the chain that rides on the outer most surface of the chain. But my sprocket outside diameter is 1.6 inches. Which means that even if the bar was pushed all the way back until it was rubbing on the sprocket, it would still have to stretch just to fit.
http://i1175.photobucket.com/albums/...psihbk3wxh.jpg

http://i1175.photobucket.com/albums/...psxovmoluj.jpg

http://i1175.photobucket.com/albums/...pshrqofxby.jpg

http://i1175.photobucket.com/albums/...psiqzmk3kj.jpg

How much do chains really stretch from the factory?
jessesnowden is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 05-06-2016, 12:37 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Oregon
Posts: 145
View Dan3103's Photo Album My Photos
Adding a link or two is no big deal. Most saw shops buy chain by the 100 foot roll or bigger. They will have just what you need. Take the saw in and I'm sure they will fix you up.
Dan3103 is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 05-06-2016, 06:47 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 25,995
View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
It's not difficult adding links to the chain however every time you replace the chain you will have to do that. If it were me I would call Stihl and find out what went wrong. It may be you need to replace the sprocket too.
Steve Neul is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 Old 05-06-2016, 07:24 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Florida Panhandle
Posts: 12,322
View GeorgeC's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Neul View Post
It's not difficult adding links to the chain however every time you replace the chain you will have to do that. If it were me I would call Stihl and find out what went wrong. It may be you need to replace the sprocket too.
Agree.

George
GeorgeC is online now  
post #5 of 8 Old 05-06-2016, 09:29 AM
World's Tallest Midget
 
Mort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 813
View Mort's Photo Album My Photos
Not to change the subject but I used to work 5 minutes away from you.

I hate signatures.
Mort is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 05-06-2016, 12:52 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 105
View jessesnowden's Photo Album My Photos
Haha then you know just how lovely casino road is ;-) I've been working at the boeing 777x project for the past 2 years, so I traded a front yard and a neighborhood with no drugs for a 3 minute commute.
jessesnowden is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 05-06-2016, 09:19 PM
Senior Member
 
bmarshall9686's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 116
View bmarshall9686's Photo Album My Photos
I just had a similar issue with a chain from bailey's. Their website told me what chain to order for my saw and bar and it was wrong, they made it right and just sent me the right chain. So I would call them before doing anything.
bmarshall9686 is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 05-07-2016, 02:45 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 105
View jessesnowden's Photo Album My Photos
Already got it done from a shop. Its an oregon chain but I ordered it fom a supplier on amazon. It would have taken over a week to do the replacement and I've got a tree to mill this weekend. I did however get to go back in the shop with the guy doing the work and watch how he did it. He was nice enough to explain the whole process. So I think I'll just buy one of the rivet spinners and do it myself from now on :-)

I didn't think it was so easy! Thanks for the suggestion gentlemen.
jessesnowden is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Chainsaw suggestions? BZawat Woodturning 35 04-22-2016 06:24 PM
Poulan Chainsaw fixit thread Alchymist Forestry & Milling 8 03-23-2016 10:49 PM
quartersawing with a chainsaw mill jessesnowden Forestry & Milling 3 02-18-2016 09:51 PM
Need 2-1/4 OD to 2-1/4 OD Vac fitting Coupler? Sleeper Dust Collection 8 02-16-2016 09:54 PM
Which chainsaw MidGAOutdoor Forestry & Milling 13 11-15-2015 10:32 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome