Woodworking Talk banner

Need advice on making a frame with thin wooden sticks.

1K views 20 replies 8 participants last post by  allpurpose 
#1 ·
I have unused wooden sticks of 1.27cm fatness, I want to make a frame with this and install mesh on it, will this wood be sufficient for that?

#4 · (Edited)
I have just bought a garden trellis made of willow twigs smaller than yours. Out frame made up of three withes.
johnep

What are three withes?

welcome to the forum, MicroCrafts.
what part of the world are you from ?
do you have example photos, sketches or drawings
of the project you are trying to build or photos
of some of your past projects ?

I'm from India. I don't have any sketches, drawings or photos of the project I'm trying to build or past projects.

This is my first project.

I guess it would look like this, the room's frame would be made out of the wooden sticks I have.

The wooden sticks are forming cracks when I hammer nails into them to attach two of them together at the corners.

Do I have to saw off the straight corners into slanting corners?

#3 · (Edited)
welcome to the forum, MicroCrafts.
what part of the world are you from ?
do you have example photos, sketches or drawings
of the project you are trying to build or photos
of some of your past projects ?

there is no answer to your question: (not enough information).
you have 1/2" sticks that you want to put window screen on ??
what overall size will the frame be ??

#5 · (Edited)
Frame for what.... chickens?... a painting?

You must certainly know that a stick" or board has 3 dimensions, length, width and thickness. What are the other 2 dimension and what is the frame going to be used for? How will the corners be secured? Will there be fasteners or just glue or both?

Your question lacks details so it's impossible to give any advice.
:sad2:

#7 ·