My first table saw - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 60 Old 12-26-2012, 01:02 PM Thread Starter

View Gannicus's Photo Album My Photos
My first table saw

Looking to buy my very first table saw. I'm no pro, just someone who likes to make things, and getting a house this year, I know I'll need one.

I've made some things over the year using a circular saw, but...even using jigs etc for straight cuts, they never end up straight. So I figured now was a good time to get one.

This is the one I'm looking at getting : http://www.amazon.com/Rockwell-RK7241S-Table-Saw-Laser/dp/B004ULR8EQ/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top.

Or even this one. Craftsman

That's about all I'm willing to spend, and want to buy new. It seems to have great review on Amazon, and Youtube...but I figured asking in a specific forum is generally best. I've searched and saw another gent was asking about this saw back in April, but no one ever gave him an answer.

So...thoughts for a first time, DIY buyer like myself? Thanks guys!

Last edited by Gannicus; 12-26-2012 at 01:21 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 60 Old 12-26-2012, 02:08 PM

View Burt's Photo Album My Photos
I think you should consider a step up to something like the Ridgid 4512 or a Bosch 4100 if you do not have the space like me.
http://www.homedepot.com/buy/ridgid-...l#.UNs8M6y9wkQ
http://www.amazon.com/Bosch-4100DG-09-10-Inch-Worksite-Gravity-Rise/dp/B000S6VCOY
The Following User Says Thank You to Burt For This Useful Post:
mattk8715 (12-29-2012)
post #3 of 60 Old 12-26-2012, 02:25 PM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
Here's the same Bosch 4100 "refurbished"

I have never purchased a refurbished tool, BUT as I understand it the factory technicians have gone over it thoroughly and inspected, it therefore is may be as good or better than new. They usually come worth the same or slightly less warranty than new AND in this case the prices is $400 less than new.