• 1 Post By gmercer_48083
  • 1 Post By Jim Frye
  • 1 Post By woodnthings
  • 1 Post By woodnthings
  • 1 Post By Chris Curl

post #1 of 20 Old 02-13-2018, 01:00 AM Thread Starter

View BernieL's Photo Album My Photos
MT joint shoulders - help

My mortise & tenon joints are almost perfect... during dry assembly, I put the together and take them apart by hand and they hold strong. My problem is with the shoulders of the tenons. They don't always sit flat.

I cut my tenons on the ts using methods too ensure equal distance from blade for every side... I have checked and rechecked the perpendicular setting of the blade.

Sometimes I get it right and sometimes not. My sides are jointed and lengths are accurate...

I.m a self taught woodworker and I know we all have too find a method that works the best for us, simply said, what works best for "me"! How do you achieve your perfect MT shoulders? I expect to see different methods. I'm looking to discover what will work best for me and I'll try all methods... Thank you in advance!

Its' never hot or cold in New Hampshire... its' always seasonal.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 Old 02-13-2018, 11:09 AM

View gmercer_48083's Photo Album My Photos