Massive window sills - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 5Likes
  • 3 Post By Luka Mesarich
  • 2 Post By Luka Mesarich

post #1 of 15 Old 07-14-2017, 05:16 PM Thread Starter

View Luka Mesarich's Photo Album My Photos
Massive window sills

Hi guys,

I am building a straw bale house with lots of wood. The walls are very thick so I would like to make massive window sills with some wood I have and which has been drying for 2-3 years now outside, protected. 99% it is oak. Very hard on touch. They are about 2 inches thick, as you can see in these photos.

http://www.woodworkingtalk.com/attac...304426&thumb=1
http://www.woodworkingtalk.com/attac...304434&thumb=1
http://www.woodworkingtalk.com/attac...304442&thumb=1

The end result would be the last photo..

http://www.woodworkingtalk.com/attac...304458&thumb=1

I am a newbie with woodworking and I have some basic questions:

1. Will the sills crack if I make the sills with one piece of wood?
2. If yes, how do you recommend I proceed to cut and assemble again?
3. What tools do you recommend I buy for this project? I do have some hand tools, eccentric sander, hand circular saw, a very old table with a circular saw. Also I am planning on building wooden floor framing in my house and wooden flooring over it.

tnx guys
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Urbana-straw-bale-window-sill-400x600.jpg
Views:	185
Size:	51.3 KB
ID:	304458  

Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 07-14-2017, 05:40 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos