Mantel out of MDF? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 14 Old 01-23-2013, 08:58 PM Thread Starter

View ol104's Photo Album My Photos
Mantel out of MDF?

My neighbors have been hinting around about me buidling them a mantel for their fireplace. Nothing too fancy, a simple box with some basic molding around the edges and attached/hung to wall using a cleat system.

The kicker is that they want to paint it white to match their trim. So no matter what type of material/wood I use it will end of up white.

I know that Poplar paints up really well but would there be any drawbacks to simply using 3/4 MDF?

I am still a novice when it comes to material strengths/weaknesses. I think making it out of solid wood would be the sturdiest construction but i also have a full sheet of MDF currently in the shop that can serve the purpose.

any opinions will be greatly appreciated....

thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 01-23-2013, 09:10 PM

View Hutt's Photo Album My Photos
The only thing I would prolly worry about is the moisture around the fire place but it may not be a problem with yours
post #3 of 14 Old 01-23-2013, 10:24 PM
Sawdust Creator

View ryan50hrl's Photo Album My Photos
I'd be concerned about mdf warping over the years......I've seen mdf sag where it isn't supported when it gets damp.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 14 Old 01-23-2013, 10:48 PM

View DannyT's Photo Album My Photos
i made a new mantle for the house we bought in 2010 out of a sheet of MDF. the whole mantle redo cost around 165.00 including tile.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	P1050458.jpg
Views:	3452
Size:	92.3 KB
ID:	60816  

post #5 of 14 Old 01-23-2013, 11:00 PM

View Brian T.'s Photo Album My Photos
What? You think that MDF is going to warp like the mechanical properties of real wood? I hope not.