Making Wooden Shapes and Letters - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 12 Old 02-23-2013, 12:31 AM Thread Starter

View CraftGirl's Photo Album My Photos
Making Wooden Shapes and Letters

Hello!
I need any and all help regarding wooden shapes and letters. I am actually an artist, but I am pretty good at DIY.
I have no idea where to start with this project though. Originally I wanted to out source the wood cutting part but I can't seems to find anyone that will make the letters and shapes to the size I want (26"-30").
I am thinking maybe a scroll saw?
I am attaching photo's of what I am trying to duplicate.
Any help is much appreciated!!!
Name:  M letter.jpg
Views: 6496
Size:  61.7 KB

Name:  watermelon.jpg
Views: 6225
Size:  74.1 KB
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 02-23-2013, 04:12 AM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
a scroll saw won't have the arm capacity/reach

http://www.amazon.com/s?ie=UTF8&page...%3ASabre%20saw

A hand held sabre saw or jig saw, will work. There are many brands with Bosch at the top. Some have a carrry handle others just the motor to hold on to. I own a Bosch with carry handle, Porter Cable with the motor barrel, Dewalt with a carry handle, and a Black and Decker el cheapo I got for my young son. All work OK, but the Bosch vibrates a bit less.
Blades are either "L" shaped at the top or have 2 bumps and look like a small crucifix and are "quick change" by turning a knob, no wrenches needed. Use a fine tooth on plywood to avoid splintering and cut with the face side down because it cuts on the pull stroke.

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)
post #3 of 12 Old 02-23-2013, 07:19 AM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos