Making windows - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 18 Old 06-11-2013, 02:56 AM Thread Starter

View garyrxl's Photo Album My Photos
Making windows

Hi folks I'm a noob here and I'm hoping you can help.

I'm making oak windows for my house. Frames and subframes are done, and look good. Now I need to make the opening bit.

I'm using joinery grade oak which I want to be as slim as possible to keep sight lines looking good. It needs to carry 16mm (5/8") double glazing. Am thinking the timber needs to be 40mm (1 3/4"). This will give 10mm bead either side and 2mm for glazing tape. Am thinking the timber should be 2" high - just because!

That's the design part. Thoughts welcome. On the making bit I am totally failing to get mortises tight and straight enough to hold shape without losing flatness and strength of the panel. I have a chisel morticer but I don't think I'm doing it right. Any videos / tips on making great mortice and tenon joints?

Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 Old 06-11-2013, 05:25 AM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos

Could you post a sketch of your intended glazing, and the joint you want to make?

post #3 of 18 Old 06-11-2013, 10:25 AM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by garyrxl View Post
Hi folks I'm a noob here and I'm hoping you can help.

I'm making oak windows for my house. Frames and subframes are done, and look good. Now I need to make the opening bit.

I'm using joinery grade oak which I want to be as slim as possible to keep sight lines looking good. It needs to carry 16mm (5/8") double glazing. Am thinking the timber needs to be 40mm (1 3/4"). This will give 10mm bead either side and 2mm for glazing tape. Am thinking the timber should be 2" high - just because!