Looking for thoughts on my table saw dilemma. - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 8Likes

post #1 of 21 Old 11-03-2017, 09:01 AM Thread Starter

View Ron_J's Photo Album My Photos
Looking for thoughts on my table saw dilemma.

So here's the deal...I've been using an old hand me down craftsman table saw. The fence sucks, the top is small and the base/legs are wobbly. It's past time for a new saw.
My shop is my garage, and being able to move the saw around so I can get the car in is a must...for now. A new garage/shop is in the cards come spring/summer, and it will have a permanent spot for a saw.
Is it going to be worth it for me to get a new saw that fits my needs now, or just fight thru the next couple projects till I have room for a bigger saw?

Keep in mind that I'm just an occasional hobbyist, and haven't used my table saw in probably close to a year. So it isn't anything that is going to get worked to death. Although I need to make a couple toy boxes before spring, so I will need one ASAP.
new2woodwrk likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 Old 11-03-2017, 09:26 AM

View new2woodwrk's Photo Album My Photos
I can tell you that I was in a similar position about 1 1/2 years ago. I had an old craftsman table saw that I was having a heck of time working with.

My shop is in my garage (2 car) and I have my table saw in the same position since I bought it and just move around the other items so I can work.

I can also tell you that for us "hobbyists" bigger is not always better. However...

I came here and there were so many helpful and motivating posts and responses to my questions and concerns.

After careful consideration and getting my table saw tuned up and even built a sled for it (I was and still am a novice at wood working) I decided that the "wobbly" craftsman just wasn't cutting it for me long term.