Looking to Start Pen Turning - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 22 Old 09-16-2015, 11:18 AM Thread Starter

View Pandemonium's Photo Album My Photos
Looking to Start Pen Turning

Hey folks,

I've been woodworking for almost a year now, and I've fallen head over heels for the hobby. To this point, I've focused predominately on joinery and box-making, selling my boxes for enough to slowly upgrade my shop. One thing I have a strong interest in is pen turning. I am an English teacher, and the idea of making my own pens for myself and colleagues is one I keep coming back to. I'm going to pick up the HF 10" x 18" lathe as my starter (I looked into the Rockler Excelsior, but I've read that they're basically the exact same lathe just priced differently). What I need help with is what tools I'd need as well as what lathe accessories I'd need. Any guidance would be a huge boon. My goal is to eventually, once I'm confident in pen turning, escalate to turning small bowls, wooden shot glasses, and similar stuff.

Thanks,
JP
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 Old 09-16-2015, 12:05 PM

View Jim Beam's Photo Album My Photos
I went with a Rikon 70-100 mini, It's a solid bench top lathe with a 1/2 hp motor. WAY better quality than HF. I've turned bowls and platter up to 12 inches with no problem.

For pen turning, you will need a pen mandrel. I recommend a mandrel saver that mounts in your tail stock. It keeps you from bending the mandrel and keeps it more stable.

If all you plan on turning is pens, a gouge is all you will need. A scraper is nice for the last cut but not essential. Also pen kits and bushings of course. Watch some YouTube videos, pen turning is quite easy.

Eventually you will want to turn other things and will acquire a face plate, a nice chuck (Nova G3 is great), various chuck jaws, a spur drive, a live center, and more gouges.