Looking to make a living room table - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 4Likes

post #1 of 24 Old 10-08-2019, 08:21 PM Thread Starter

View Adam-S's Photo Album My Photos
Question Looking to make a living room table

Hey all,

I am looking to attempt making a replacement stand for a living room table I already have. The table top is 3/4" glass, 60" by 30". So it is pretty heavy.

I have no significant experience in woodworking, other than woodshop in the 7th grade (a long time ago). But I figured I can get some pre-cut lumber from Home Depot or Ganahl, and assemble it pretty easy. And then sand and stain it.

I created a design that is simple enough, but I was hoping I could get some feedback to ensure that I was doing everything right. Below is the 3d render I created. I first did a 2x4 version, and then a 1x2 version. The 1x2 certainly looks less bulky, but I do want to be sure that it would safely support the 100+ lb piece of glass. And then I was unsure what type of wood I should use.

Any feedback that you have I would greatly appreciate. TIA
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Table (1).jpg
Views:	14
Size:	454.1 KB
ID:	379595  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 Old 10-08-2019, 08:55 PM

View FrankC's Photo Album My Photos
2x2's or 2X4's will support the weight of the top, your concern will be how stable the base is, you will need a system of joinery where the supports can't rack sideways or endways. Simple butt joints are not that strong, you will need a more secure type of joint.
Tony B and NoThankyou like this.

Wise men speak because they have something to say; fools because they have to say something -Plato

FrankC
http://sawdustmaking.com
post #3 of 24 Old 10-08-2019, 09:14 PM

View Tony B's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome to the forum