Live edge walnut slab - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 3Likes
  • 1 Post By 35015
  • 1 Post By Tennessee Tim
  • 1 Post By Ciscokid

post #1 of 8 Old 03-24-2018, 05:39 PM Thread Starter

View Ciscokid's Photo Album My Photos
Live edge walnut slab

Newbie here and first post, first time flattening wood slab and was needing advise on routing against the grain or with the grain on slab. Have already built flattening sled and fixing to dig in. Best guess would be against the grain, but need advise from seasoned veterans. Added photo but not very computer savvy so don't know if it worked. Anyway a little advise much appreciated
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	411.9 KB
ID:	350610  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 03-24-2018, 08:22 PM
Former Member

View 35015's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ciscokid View Post
...Have already built flattening sled and fixing to dig in...
Hello,

???...By there nature, flattening sleds that employ routers tend to work "across grain," (kind'a like a scrub plane does) not with or against it...per se. Just make sure you have and keep the bit sharp.

Good Luck,

j
Tennessee Tim likes this.
post #3 of 8 Old 03-24-2018, 09:17 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
If you are flattening the face you wouldn't be going against the grain. That happens when you are routing an edge.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 8 Old 03-24-2018, 11:00 PM
Sawing against the Wind

View Tennessee Tim's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Neul View Post
If you are flattening the face you wouldn't be going against the grain. That happens when you are routing an edge.