Lignum Vitae Question - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By mboessen
  • 1 Post By mboessen

post #1 of 9 Old 09-25-2020, 11:15 AM Thread Starter

View mboessen's Photo Album My Photos
Lignum Vitae Question

Hi all:
just registered. While I am a woodworker, among my many other hobbies, my purpose today is an attempt to help a dear friend. He is 82 years old and has to sell his farm. I am trying to help him dispose of property.

One line item is a quantity of chunks of a Lignum Vitae tree that he brought home with him in 1971 from somewhere overseas. There are maybe a half dozen pieces ranging in diameter from roughly 12 inches to roughly 7 inches and ranging in length from roughly 2 feet to roughly 18 inches. He believes this wood is very valuable and has asked me to find some way to sell it for him. I have absolutely no idea how this might be done. Can anyone here give me some idea as to value and how I should proceed?

Any help greatly appreciated

Mike
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 09-25-2020, 11:21 AM
Wood machinist

View difalkner's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome to the forum, Mike! Add your first name to your signature line so we'll remember what to call you and it will show in each post. Add your location to your profile, as well.

A quick search on eBay yields pricing all over the map - Lignum Vitae

David

David

Curly Wood Shop on Etsy
David Falkner - Woodworking YouTube channel and Instagram
Our music at church - current videos Airline Baptist BC Facebook Live
Romans 3:23
post #3 of 9 Old 09-25-2020, 11:38 AM

View John Smith_inFL's Photo Album My Photos
welcome to the forum, Mike.
what part of the world are you in ??

Edit: there is "real" Lignum Vitae - and there is the "other kind".
what country did the wood come from ???
to be sure of what you have, you need to take a sample to someone that
really knows the stuff.
I myself would like to have a few of the pieces that will fit in a Flat Rate USPS box.