Kinda sad, but not really. New veritas cabinet scraper and card scraper - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By terryh

post #1 of 12 Old 01-09-2018, 01:52 AM Thread Starter

View renraw9002's Photo Album My Photos
Kinda sad, but not really. New veritas cabinet scraper and card scraper

I'm fairly new to hand tool woodworking so my newbie tendencies are probably to blame for everything. Anywho

Got the veritas cabinet scraper and the full card scraper set for christmas from the parents (couldn't be more thrilled). Until i went to roll my first burr with the variable burnisher thing... I almost immediately hated it. I tried light passes like many people said to do, I tried pressing hard like others said. obviously this was after polishing all 3 sides of the edges of the card scraper with a sharpening stone to make everything all nice and pretty and perfectly ready to take a burr as I'd seen in 1000 videos. No matter what i tried with this damn thing I was doing great to get itty bitty shavings, but mostly i made dust both with the cabinet scraper and with the card scrapers. I kept assuming I was to blame and I probably am and i'm just not using the variable burnisher correctly.

Finally after an hour of farting around and cleaning edges and sharpening and trying it this way and that way I had a thought from a Paul Sellers' article amongst other articles. Why not just use a screwdriver as a burnisher? They do it, so can I.

All seemed lost and I pulled out this cheap p.o.s screwdriver from my toolbox and put a burr on the cabinet scraper and the card scraper. Suddenly voila, beautiful shavings. The wood literally shines after a couple passes. Couldn't be happier... except that my parents spent a lot of money on a fancy burnisher which was completely outclassed by a $2~ screwdriver.

Any tips anyone might have for using the variable burnisher? Or should I just suck it up and continue using this cheapo screwdriver as a burnisher?