jointer carbide vs. HSS? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 2Likes

post #1 of 22 Old 05-15-2019, 02:58 PM Thread Starter

View Mike Mc's Photo Album My Photos
jointer carbide vs. HSS?

I am relatively new to wood working. im looking at the cutech 8" jointer. is the carbide blade worth the difference over the HSS blade
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 Old 05-15-2019, 03:01 PM Thread Starter

View Mike Mc's Photo Album My Photos
jointer carbide vs. HSS?

I am looking at purchasing a cutech 8" jointer. is the carbide blade worth the difference in cost over the HSS blade?
post #3 of 22 Old 05-15-2019, 03:31 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Mc View Post
I am looking at purchasing a cutech 8" jointer. is the carbide blade worth the difference in cost over the HSS blade?
Depends on if were you buy wood they put staples all over it. A carbide set of knives would last the home woodworker a lifetime but if they get chipped from staples would cost a fortune having it sharpened.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 22 Old 05-15-2019, 07:05 PM
Central Florida

View John Smith_inFL's Photo Album My Photos
if you are going to process an abrasive wood such as teak,
in high volumes, then carbide would be my choice.

keep in mind that you can sharpen HSS blades MANY times
for the price of a set of carbide blades. (do the math).
I used the heck out of an old Craftsman 6" jointer during the
course of 20 years and never sharpened the blades once.
(cutting mainly 2x redwood, HDU and aluminum on occasion).
depends on you - and what you make - and what wood you use.

-- Failure is proof that you at least tried ~ now, go do it again, and again, until you get it right --
post #5 of 22 Old 05-15-2019, 08:56 PM
Village Idiot

View epicfail48's Photo Album My Photos