Jointer Blades - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 13 Old 10-11-2013, 01:45 PM Thread Starter

View WoodMachiner's Photo Album My Photos
Jointer Blades

Recently I bought a used Delta Jointer model 37-190. I knew when I bought it that the knives where dinged up. I did some research and saw some recommendations to only by the Delta knives so I did. Upon receiving them I was inspecting them to see how straight the cutting edge is. To make a long story short here, I found that the center of all the knives has about a .02” curve to them so that the edges are raised up in a concave way. Is there a reason for this? I was going to build a sharpening jig for the existing set of blades so I have back ups, but was shocked to discover that the “new” blades where not straight to begin with. Now before you tell me that I am being ridiculous here, I work in the tool and die trade and .005” is considered a loose tolerance, am I being too precise here? Should I not worry about it?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 10-11-2013, 01:52 PM

View Dave Paine's Photo Album My Photos
I cannot explain how the knives got the curve. Perhaps stress during manufacture or initial grinding.

When you install these, the gibs screws will flatten out in the jointer, so the only issue is sharpening.

I think a professional sharpening service likely clamps the knives in place so they should be flat whilst being sharpened.

I also have a Delta 37-190. I purchased a replacement set of knives decades ago. I do not recall who made them, but they have worked well.

I also made a quick-and-easy jig to hold the knives so I could sharpen with abrasive paper on a granite slab.

I made a single cut in a scrap of wood with the table saw blade at appropriate angle. Just needed to tweak for the depth of the cut.

Just needs to be tight enough to hold while using the abrasive paper. Works for my needs.

Name:  Jig_jointer_knife_sharpening_1317.jpg
Views: 198
Size:  41.6 KB