jointer - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 8 Old 09-23-2020, 09:38 PM Thread Starter

View jeff3285's Photo Album My Photos
jointer

i am leaning to buy a jointer but there is so many reviews on them its hard to decide,,i was leaning to the benchtop type,,but for not much more you can get the ridgid one,,, even the grizzly that's not too bad in price,,im just a retired woodworker so an advice you can give me would be greatly appreciated,,and which do you thing would be the easiest to change knives,,the one with straight blades or the helical inserts,,,,thank you
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 09-24-2020, 10:08 AM

View TomCT2's Photo Album My Photos
I got a helical style thickness planer - I'll never go back to the straight blade stuff.
I have an old (inherited) jointer, and if I used it more often I'd be replacing the head....

the one downside to the helical design is you have to buy all new inserts when dull - there is no home sharpening (or pro, I know of)
most inserts rotate once - you get two edges per 'buy'
I recommend carbide inserts, if available. as a hobbyist, I don't have all day to be "fixing" tools
post #3 of 8 Old 09-24-2020, 02:46 PM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
Helical is great ... I guess

In 50 years I've had one, but everyone that does loces 'em. I've managed with a straight blade knife set, BUT I don't use a lot of figured grain stock, mostly straight grain. That's where the difference is according to most. If I were buying new, then pop for the extra convenience at a higher cost.

https://www.grizzly.com/products/Gri...RoCAf0QAvD_BwE

https://www.grizzly.com/products/Gri...terhead/G0452Z