Jet 12" Jointer/Planer? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By NoThankyou

post #1 of 10 Old 11-27-2019, 01:27 PM Thread Starter

View wjfeeney@hotmail.com's Photo Album My Photos
Jet 12" Jointer/Planer?

I see Rockler has a sale on the Jet 12" Jointer/Planer $2379 a saving of $420 AND free shipping. It looks really good. Being a newbie I actually didn't realize that you would joint the flat surface of a board. I always thought you only ran the edges through until I was watching the video on the product and saw them jointing the flat surface.
Is it smarter to get a dedicated 12/13" planer and a 6 or 8" jointer or get this combination tool. I like the cabinet, dust collection and the 3hp, 230v Thoughts?
Thanks, BillF

BillF
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 11-27-2019, 08:06 PM
Ancient Termite

View NoThankyou's Photo Album My Photos
BillF,
If you have the space a separate joiner and planer are ideal. I have the Grizzly and it takes all of 3 minutes to go between J & P. But is a PITA. The price that you mentioned is about what I paid for my Grizzly about 5 years ago but mine has the square carbide knives in a spiral pattern.

Dust collection on any combination is probably not the best.

On a joiner, the wider the cutter head and the longer the tables the better the joiner will perform.

The HUGE advantage of the combination is that the joiner can do wide face grain. Yes, you will find pieces wider than 12 inches that you need to face joint. And no, just a wider planer won't solve the problem.

Rich
In furniture 1/32" is a Grand Canyon
post #3 of 10 Old 11-27-2019, 10:40 PM Thread Starter

If you need to face joint couldn't you put it through the planer and just barely take any material off?

BillF
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 10 Old 11-28-2019, 01:15 AM
Ancient Termite