Inheriting a old desk, not sure how to fix it up - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 4Likes
  • 2 Post By Onefreetexan
  • 1 Post By Tony B
  • 1 Post By Toolman50

post #1 of 8 Old 12-27-2018, 05:34 PM Thread Starter

View mattig89ch's Photo Album My Photos
Question Inheriting a old desk, not sure how to fix it up

Hello all,

I have an old hand made wood desk, that I had growing up. Its a solid hunk of wood (well, several hunks of wood really), and it weighs a ton. Also, pretty sure its completely hand made by my uncle who can no longer walk much.

My dads a cabinet maker, so I have some vauge basics of wood working under my belt. But I'm a computer tech by trade myself. So I don't have alot of really big skills to use here, or to draw upon.

This desk was abused by my sister and I, while we grew up. It has holes drilled into (but not through) it, and plenty of scratches (some are surface scratches, some are deeper). Since she's moving out, and I'm moving into the basement apartment in a month or so, I'd like to try and fix it up a bit. Can you fix really beat up furniture like that? Is this crazy idea of mine even possible?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 12-27-2018, 05:40 PM

View Onefreetexan's Photo Album My Photos
Need pictures.....good ones, and lots of them.
35015 and Maylar like this.
post #3 of 8 Old 12-27-2018, 05:45 PM Thread Starter

That will take some time. Its currently buried under Christmas decoration boxes.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 8 Old 12-27-2018, 05:56 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
If you are concerned about the value of the desk the less you do to it the better. Having said that though there is a point where restoration helps the value.

If you are considering refinishing that should start with a paint and varnish remover. Trouble is no remover works well below 70 degrees, not even professional grade removers. It would be better off to put that job off until spring.