I need ALL of your help! - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 61 Old 01-22-2012, 04:07 PM Thread Starter

View TimRoark's Photo Album My Photos
Lightbulb I need ALL of your help!

Firstly an introduction. My name is Tim. I'm 21, and I live in the Atlanta area. My father was a carpenter and I have a lot of personal experience.

My mother and sister often ask me for help with projects. Fixing and building. They are both very independent and don't like to have to rely on me for every little thing, and often express unhappiness about not having what many in the field consider common knowledge.

I am compiling some information that I can give them to answer common questions. A field guide of sorts. I thought it would be something I'd like to have on hand as well. I believe many people would, and perhaps one day I'll end up making a pamphlet or book. Many such things exist, but it's more difficult than you'd imagine to find something simple and straightforward. Something that is no frills and no personal anecdotes.. a real simple useful, hard copy resource.

My question for all of you friendly, experienced gentleman is what information can you offer? What information would you like in such a resource? What do you find yourself commonly trying to remember or look up? What are some tricks or tips or tidbits you've picked up over the years that you can share? Think about your wives, sisters, daughters, any family or friends, male or female, novice to handyman, to master carpenter.. Anything would be greatly and completely appreciated.

Alternately, if you have any books or websites that you think might help fill this void, that would be of great help as well, I'm sure.

Here is what I have swimming around in my head so far, anything you can add, in addition would be great:

Tools: hand and stationary. Common uses, perhaps some tips associated with each.

Methods for joining wood: butt joint, half lap, dovetail, mortise and tenon, etc. etc. etc.