How to keep router bits clean - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Tool Agnostic

post #1 of 8 Old 07-30-2020, 10:05 AM Thread Starter

View denisd's Photo Album My Photos
Question How to keep router bits clean

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to woodworking and it seems that I'm starting to build a collection of router bits. Seeing how expensive they are I was wondering what's used to keep the pitch and dirt off these bits so they last longer. What's used to clean them up? Thanks.

- denis
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 07-30-2020, 10:09 AM

View Rebelwork's Photo Album My Photos
Bearing or non bearing?
post #3 of 8 Old 07-30-2020, 11:23 AM

View Jim107's Photo Album My Photos
I dunno. I have bits I've been using for years. Other than dust settling on them because they stay out, they look like they did the day I bought them.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 8 Old 07-30-2020, 11:51 AM
Smart and Cool

View shoot summ's Photo Album My Photos
I've found that if there is some pitch build up on the face of the cutting surface it is quick and easy to take a razor blade and scrape it off. Beyond that a small brass brush to remove any thing else if it bothers me.
post #5 of 8 Old 07-30-2020, 01:48 PM

View Tool Agnostic's Photo Album My Photos
NOTE: I have been told that ordinary household Formula 409 works as well as the cleaners below. When they run out, I will give Formula 409 a try.

I have two different blade and bit cleaners. One came in a set. I saw the other at a different woodworking store and decided to give it a try:

Boeshield's Blade and Bit Cleaner, bought at Rockler as part of a set:
https://www.amazon.com/BOESHIELD-BLA.../dp/B001N9YLWK

CMT Blade and Bit Cleaner, which I bought at a great local store, Austin Hardwoods:
https://www.amazon.com/CMT-Formula-B.../dp/B000BJJY5C

Both of them work equally well.