How to get started in wood turning and few other questions - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 10 Old 06-21-2014, 12:24 AM Thread Starter

View SouthernWoodworking's Photo Album My Photos
How to get started in wood turning and few other questions

Hello yall, Im trying to get into wood turning and have a few questions but before i do that let me introduce myself since im new here. Im a 17 year woodworker whos been doing this for 8 or 9 years ( Parents trusted me with tools a little to much). I work out of a garage and make things like rustic furniture and chest or planter boxes and cutting boards. I try to sell these things to make money. Im trying to make some actual money from this so i thought about turning. That opens doors previously closed due to lack of having the right tool.

Now, I cant afford a real nice lathe ( im saving up for a tablesaw ) but im a pretty good builder and thought about building one. I want to be able to turn bowls and make things like table legs. what do yall recommend? I wanna try to make some more things to sell.

Also, what are some good things to build to make money. What do yall make? Since im young, i cant open a store or anything so i dont have a good selling platform.

Thanks for the help!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 06-21-2014, 12:40 AM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
If you watch craigslist you could find a starter lathe for about 100 bucks. It would be far better and safer than a homemade one. I wouldn't start off with bowls. I would turn quite a few pieces 12" to 18" betweem centers before attempting bowls. When you get to turning table legs I would try to get a better lathe and be sure to get a live tailstock center. There's nothing like getting an oak table leg between your eyes to get your attention you need a better lathe like I did.