How do you plan a workshop? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 28 Old 05-02-2013, 10:59 AM Thread Starter

View BrandonD's Photo Album My Photos
How do you plan a workshop?

Hi guys,

As I've mentioned in my previous posts, I'm new to woodworking and only have a few tools under my belt. I have a 21x22ish two car garage that I have dedicated to my workshop. Currently I have a table saw & outfeed table, jointer, and a miter saw & stand, and working on a router table. I can see myself adding a drill press, planer, workbench, scroll saw and I think I'd be interested in turning wood down the road.

I see two things as 'prep' for a shop... electrical and dust collection. I only have one outlet in the garage that I've been working off of for the few projects I've done and no dust collection. I see where it would be beneficial to go ahead and do these things now while there is still space in the shop to run the lines easily. What I'm having trouble with is since I don't have all the tools yet I'm sure the shop layout will change... as such my electrical and dust collection placement needs will change as well.

How did you guys do it? Or am I thinking too hard? Might be my job (programmer) and my hobby are clashing together. I guess I just need to run the electrical and main dust lines in the most obvious places and just tie into them when I get a tool.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 28 Old 05-02-2013, 11:08 AM

View amckenzie4's Photo Album My Photos
I started down that path, then moved, and now I need to do it all again.

You have two options:

1) Plan everything, and then discover you did it wrong, or
2) Plan for flexibility.