How do you get a sheet of plywood home? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 37 Old 12-06-2012, 04:10 PM Thread Starter
TCM

View TCM's Photo Album My Photos
How do you get a sheet of plywood home?

If you don't own a pickup truck, how do you get a sheet of plywood home? My next two projects call of sheets of plywood, but i'm a little unsure how i'm going to get it home.

I have a '05 Ford Escape with a luggage rack on top. I also have some of those ratcheting ties that you use to secure a motorcycle to a flat bed truck, but i'm not sure if this is the most practical way.

Lowes will rent you a truck for $20, but that seems expensive if i'm only buying two sheets of plywood. I don't really have the money to buy in bulk right now.

If anyone has suggestions, i'm open to hear them.

I'm a newbie! My experience with 'woodworking' is cussing at clamps and getting glue all over everything.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 37 Old 12-06-2012, 04:15 PM
Log dog

View Dominick's Photo Album My Photos
How many sheets?
Here's how I do it.

How do you get a sheet of plywood home?-image-1925733544.jpg

Laughing!!!!!

When it's rustic......it's rustic
post #3 of 37 Old 12-06-2012, 04:17 PM

View Gilgaron's Photo Album My Photos
I have a 07 Escape and full sheets will fit diagonally in the back if you put the seats down. I've not been too nervous about breaking plywood this way, but mdf made me a little nervous when I tried it that way.

Otherwise I have them break the sheets down some for me based on what final dimensions I need. Especially after my first experience breaking down mdf and the terrible mess it made. The fewer full length rip cuts I need to clean up after the better.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 37 Old 12-06-2012, 04:18 PM

View sawdustfactory's Photo Album My Photos
+1 to having them break it down.

That bowl was perfect right up until that last cut...
post #5 of 37 Old 12-06-2012, 04:21 PM

View Dave Paine's Photo Album My Photos