How can I get into the field of carpentry with no experience? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 37Likes

post #1 of 46 Old 09-13-2020, 09:23 PM Thread Starter

View Enwar's Photo Album My Photos
How can I get into the field of carpentry with no experience?

Hello everyone; I am new to the forum. I've wanted to become a carpenter since early high school, but I have no experience in the field. How can I get into the field without any experience. Most of the carpenter helper jobs that I have seen require at least one year's experience, and I don't know how I could compete with others for jobs that don't require any experience at all. The carpenter's union in my state is closed indefinitely as of now. Could someone please provide some advice on how I could get into the field?

Thank you.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 46 Old 09-13-2020, 09:27 PM

View John Smith_inFL's Photo Album My Photos
welcome to the forum, Enwar.
what part of the world do you live in ?
how old are you now ?
what kind of woodworking / carpentry do you want to do ?

there is no educational alternative to having a front row seat in the School of Hard Knocks.
post #3 of 46 Old 09-13-2020, 09:42 PM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Smith_inFL View Post
welcome to the forum, Enwar.
what part of the world do you live in ?
how old are you now ?
what kind of woodworking / carpentry do you want to do ?

Thank you for the welcome.

I am in the United States, on the East Coast. I just graduated high school, and the type of carpentry doesn't particularly matter to me.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 46 Old 09-13-2020, 10:05 PM

I don't mean this to be sarcastic or condescending in any way:
the US Navy has a job skill called "Builder" with the SeaBees.
I served two tours with the SeaBees and they are one highly specialized unit
that can do anything with anything at any time.
a "Builder" is trained in all aspects of carpentry and woodworking.