Hinge question - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 9 Old 01-18-2013, 04:42 PM Thread Starter
ACP

View ACP's Photo Album My Photos
Hinge question

Hello,

I need help deciding what kind of hinge to use for my shelf with cabinet project. I plan to make the door fully inset into the case. The sides and door thickness will probably not exceed 5/8". I was looking at H and H L hinges, but I think I would like to make the wood the main feature over the hardware. I also don't what it to be hinged like a kitchen cabinet. Anyone have any ideas or can point me in the right direction. I am not very experienced in hinges; I've used but hinges, European hinges (if that's right, the 35mm cup ones). I have not, however, done full inset hinges. Would Roto-hinges be an option? Any help is appreciated, thank you.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 01-18-2013, 04:48 PM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACP View Post
Hello,

I need help deciding what kind of hinge to use for my shelf with cabinet project. I plan to make the door fully inset into the case. The sides and door thickness will probably not exceed 5/8". I was looking at H and H L hinges, but I think I would like to make the wood the main feature over the hardware. I also don't what it to be hinged like a kitchen cabinet. Anyone have any ideas or can point me in the right direction. I am not very experienced in hinges; I've used but hinges, European hinges (if that's right, the 35mm cup ones). I have not, however, done full inset hinges. Would Roto-hinges be an option? Any help is appreciated, thank you.
You could use euro hinges set up for full inset. They will provide good adjustment abilities.

post #3 of 9 Old 01-18-2013, 05:25 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos