Hi All. I'm also new to woodworking - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 4 Old 06-20-2008, 06:54 PM Thread Starter

View AMKCH's Photo Album My Photos
Question Hi All. I'm also new to woodworking

I know for many of you it's not just a hobby. I'd like it to be the same for me. I just purchased my first midi lathe and circular saw. Now, this may seem stupid to some of you, but..... Now that I got them (it's always been a dream of mine), How do I use them? Don't be impatient or intimidating... I just need a bit of encouragement and tutorialship... Where can I get books or manuals to teach me?

Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 06-20-2008, 07:50 PM
gnu

View gnu's Photo Album My Photos
don't be scared-they're only machines-get some wood and try them out-nobody judging you
post #3 of 4 Old 06-20-2008, 09:20 PM

View Nancy Laird's Photo Album My Photos
As far as the lathe is concerned, learning to use it is easy. Learning to use it properly and well and to turn out beautiful things takes lots and lots of practice. I suggest that you find an AAW chapter in your area, or go to Woodcraft and ask if there is someone who can give you lessons or pointers, so you can do it "right." I didn't---I depended on a couple of people (LOML and a friend), who gave me conflicting lessons and advice and confused me.

As for accessories, how deep is your pocket--or how high the limit on your credit card? You'll need:
Turning tools - lots of new turners start with the HSS set from Harbor Freight - under $50 and a good way to learn the sharpening techniques
  • Turning smock (to keep the curlies out of your tee-shirt and shorts) and some GOOD face protection - lots of turners use a Trend airshield to keep the dust - particularly sanding dust - out of your nose and lungs