Help with gluing boards - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By woodnthings
  • 1 Post By allpurpose

post #1 of 17 Old 07-16-2016, 12:39 PM Thread Starter

View Lexy's Photo Album My Photos
Help with gluing boards

I am new to woodworking. I would like to make a storage box for practice for the big stuff that I hope to make later. I sketched up some plans. My idea is to glue together 2 5 7/8 poplar boards, creating a width of 11 1/8, then cut my pieces accordingly and assemble with wood glue, mitering all corners. I have a couple questions, however. will this work with glue with me mitering the sides and gluing together, or do I need some dowels (which I'm not up to yet, and don't know how to do, lol)?

Also, when gluing my boards together, is there a type of clamp that will keep them straight? I don't have a planer or jointer. I will just have to sand them so I would like to keep that to a minimum.

Still Learning
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 Old 07-16-2016, 12:51 PM Thread Starter

I am attempting to add a picture.
Attached Images

Still Learning
post #3 of 17 Old 07-16-2016, 01:16 PM

View Kerrys's Photo Album My Photos
What type of way equipment do you have? Mitered corners are not very strong in this configuration. There are several other type of joinery that you could use that would be far stronger. Your mitered joints could be strengthened with a simple spline running the length. I am sure you will receive some good ideas from the people here.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 17 Old 07-16-2016, 01:19 PM Thread Starter

I have a table saw, compound sliding miter saw and a couple of drills. Lol!!! I wanted to miter it be use of the practice it will give me. Ultimately I would like to build my bathroom vanity and my plans include massive legs that would require mothering because I can't find 5-6 inch square wood.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Still Learning
post #5 of 17 Old 07-16-2016, 03:21 PM