help assembling picnic table - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 3 Old 10-09-2012, 01:50 PM Thread Starter

View ericc22's Photo Album My Photos
help assembling picnic table

Greetings,

I am a newbie working on a picnic table, making this one: http://members.shaw.ca/bomr/ptabl.htm

I have all the wood cut and I am ready to drill for assembly. But, I want to make sure that the holes are drilled perfectly so the angles and dimensions are right on - I don't want this sucker to rock!

My challenge is to get the 2 legs aligned at a perfect 90 degree angle and while they stay aligned unclamped, sandwich them between the 2 top beams so that the top beams are centered perfectly and at a 45 degree angle to the legs.

I can certainly come close. But 'wiggling' as the article suggests isn't getting it perfect for me. Maybe I don't have the right clamps but I haven't been able to clamp the legs together (odd angle) in a way that allows me to get the top beams on good enough.

I have a speed square to help get the angles right. The problem is more of clamping and holding it still while I 'wiggle.'

Suggestions on the best way to clamp the legs together while I get them situated on the beams?

I was thinking of starting with one leg, and using a small screw that goes only half way through the bottom top beam so as not to mar it. Then I can put the other leg onto the top beam, aligning it at the right angle, assuming the first leg is on the top beam properly. Then I can put on the top top beam, and drill everything and remove the 'clamp' screws.

Sorry for the confusion. I know this makes no sense unless you are familiar with this design. Just figured I'd give it a shot. Any and all help is most appreciated!!

Eric
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 Old 10-09-2012, 02:05 PM

View Dave Paine's Photo Album My Photos
Eric,

Long time no posting. Happy to see the project is still active.

Off-the-cuff thoughts.