Help with achieving this dark gray/silver look on oak? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By SEMGK

post #1 of 10 Old 06-23-2018, 01:46 PM Thread Starter

View SEMGK's Photo Album My Photos
Help with achieving this dark gray/silver look on oak?

Hi folks,

Total newbie here. Making a kitchen table to seat my growing family. I'd love to stain the oak a dark gray with black/silver tones, that still has the grain of the wood shining through. First pass looks just like boring, gray paint, no grain.

Any suggestions on how I might create this color below?

Thank you so much!
Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 06-23-2018, 02:14 PM

View Brian T.'s Photo Album My Photos
Ammonia fuming should produce a darker gray than iron/vinegar stain (which reacts wit the natural wood tannins.)
There's probably some gray dye in a can that's the modern thing to do (test on scrap).
post #3 of 10 Old 06-23-2018, 02:52 PM

View Tom Lilletveit's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by SEMGK View Post
Hi folks,

Total newbie here. Making a kitchen table to seat my growing family. I'd love to stain the oak a dark gray with black/silver tones, that still has the grain of the wood shining through. First pass looks just like boring, gray paint, no grain.

Any suggestions on how I might create this color below?

Thank you so much!

It looks to me that they have first stained it black to make the figure pop, then sanded it down and stained it with some white/greyish stain.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 10 Old 06-23-2018, 04:57 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
You might try staining the wood black with a dye stain first. Then apply a thin oil based white paint and completely wipe off the excess. If too much of the white stays on the surface try sealing the black first with zinsser sealcoat so the white stays just in the grain.
post #5 of 10 Old 06-23-2018, 10:20 PM

View hawkeye10's Photo Album My Photos