Good Wood Selection for Bathroom - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 5 Old 09-02-2008, 09:15 PM Thread Starter

View CharlesC's Photo Album My Photos
Smile Good Wood Selection for Bathroom

I am about to design a bathroom vanity for my new bathroom. I have limited woodworking experience, but I'm ready to tackle anything.

My bathroom is going to be very white, so I am looking for a finished piece that is dark. What wood would you all suggest for use in a bathroom? Does it really matter as long as I put on plenty of coats of polyurethane afterwards?

Also to consider is the trim work around the bathroom. I have some stained glass windows and sliding doors. They will also need some trim work, which might look nice if it matches the vanity. I would of course prefer to just buy stock trim, I'd rather not have to cut the profile myself, nor have it custom cut. That will depend on what you all think about the vanity.

Thanks for the input, I look forward to visiting this forum more often, and hope to hear back!

Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 09-03-2008, 11:05 AM
No Longer Here

View frankp's Photo Album My Photos
Lots of good, dark woods out there. I'd check this site: www.exoticlumberinc.com and see if they have something you like. Also do some searches online for other dark woods and check out the Wood Encyclopedia from your local library. You'll find plenty of beautiful woods that you can then narrow down to a few choices. Ask here to see what's the easiest to work with, or will yield the best results for the type of work you're planning to do and make your final choice with that information in mind. Then see if you can find something local to you, or a place that sells the wood and will ship it to you.