Glueing solid wood trim to laminate worktop - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 11 Old 12-02-2018, 06:21 AM Thread Starter

View DustyTop's Photo Album My Photos
Glueing solid wood trim to laminate worktop

Hi,

I love my kitchen worktops that are 38 mm deep laminates with a solid beechwood trim (rectangular cross section with gently rounded edges 40mm x 12mm) but I need to replace some of them with new worktops. They are quite old and have mostly lasted very well, but I can't find any worktop manufacturer that can replicate the trim.

I am not very experienced at woodworking (I prefer the virtual world where my frequent mistakes can be rectified easily!), but I would like to glue a solid beechwood strip trim to new laminated kitchen worktops. Would it be best to have an exposed chipboard edge or a flat laminate edge and which glue would be best? Would it be really hard for long lengths.. would I need some 600mm plus wide clamps ?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 12-02-2018, 08:19 AM
johnep

View johnep's Photo Album My Photos
You can buy rolls/strips of trim to match the colour of your tops.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/SELF-ADHESI...d+worktop+trim

johnep

Last edited by johnep; 12-02-2018 at 08:22 AM.
post #3 of 11 Old 12-02-2018, 09:27 AM

View Stevedore's Photo Album My Photos
I'd think that gluing the wood trim to the exposed particle board edge would hold well; probably better than gluing it to a laminate edge, depending on the type of glue you use. Common wood glue, i.e., Titebond, should bond the wood trim to the particle board OK.